Amy’s Life in Brief


Money!!
February 6, 2008, 8:37 am
Filed under: financial concerns | Tags: , ,

Today my dear husband and I had another disagreement about money. Here’s the problem…he never thinks we have enough. It doesn’t matter what I say, he thinks we just don’t have enough. We have a substantial savings account, a large amount in a certificate of deposit, are about 6 years from paying off our house and have very little debt otherwise. But, if I spend even a small amount of money on anything he freaks out.

We put the majority of our expenses on one credit card because it offers good rewards for using it. He is always freaking out about how much we put on it. The thing is, considering that we use it to buy a lot of groceries and pay our utilities, we really don’t put that much on it…if we weren’t using the credit card we’d be writing checks.

We go round and round about this EVERY month and it is getting so old. So, what I’ve decided to do is only buy things on Wednesdays. If something needs to be purchased on any other day, I’m going to make him go and get it. That way he can understand that I’m not going to Fred Meyer to buy another new pair of shoes that I don’t wear…or he’ll realize I don’t wear them because they are a figament of his imagination! I think that way he’ll get a true understanding of what it costs to maintain a family.

I don’t understand why he doesn’t get it, though. I don’t hide receipts or purchases from him…so he should know I’m not out buying crazy things.

So, I’ll try this only spending money on Wednesdays idea for a month and we’ll see how it goes.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

A focus on lack will only increase that lack. Have your husband write out what he wants, and instead of complaining and freaking out when you spend suggest he read his list of wants and visualize having it already. For example visualize having more than enough money for you to buy not only what you need, but also what you want. You will be amazed if he consistanlty does this how, not only his attitude will change, but your circumstances will change as well. Does that sound good?!

Comment by Jim Murdoch

That does sound good! I will suggest that to him…I do feel bad for him. After all, it can’t be a good experience to always feel as if we’re on the edge of financial ruin…probably feels as bad as actually being on the edge of financial ruin! I definitely think an attitude change will do us a world of good.

Comment by oregonamy1972




Leave a Reply

