Amy’s Life in Brief


Holy Cow!
April 8, 2008, 6:02 am
Filed under: employment search, MSW, social work

I am in a state of shock today. I have applied for several positions recently. I thought it would take me longer to hear anything about them…but I guess not. Today I received a phone call from Samaritan Health Services and they’ve asked me to come in and interview for a Medical Social Worker position. It would be on a casual (ie fill-in I’m assuming) basis. I was a little surprised, though, at how quickly they wanted to do the interview. If I would have agreed to it, they would have interviewed me tomorrow! Instead, my interview is at 2PM on Wednesday.

So, the first thing I freaked out about was my lack of appropriate clothing. I took a trip to Albany and actually found something that will work…I don’t even think I’ll need to buy new shoes. My total outfit cost $33.60…pretty frugal, huh?

Now, I am freaking out because I haven’t been on a job interview in nine YEARS and I haven’t done anything resembling medical social work since grad school almost ten years ago. I guess they wouldn’t bother to interview me if they thought I had no qualifications….but I just don’t want to go in there and look like an idiot.

I also think I will have another job interview soon. While I was on the phone with the hospital, the case manager from CARDV called me. I applied for a weekend/evening advocate position they have open. I called back and left a message to see if I could get an interview on Thursday.

Amazingly I am able to have child care for both of those days. I guess it’s not really amazing. Both sets of grandparents have said they will make sure they are around to to care for the boys while I’m working. I’m just all around nervous about this whole process. We’ll see how it goes…wish me luck!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thanks for your blog i like it !!
Mama from france from http://www.Sirpriz.com Gift exchange community

Comment by mama

Hey Amy,
Found your blog online and wondered if I shoudl email you… I’m proud and happy for you that you have re-connected with the working world. I stayed home with our two sons for fours years after I quit DOJ. Sold our business last November and guess what?! I’m happily back at DOJ! Lovin’ it. We live in Redmond now. Would you like to communicate?
Michelle Sheehan

Comment by Michelle




Leave a Reply

