Amy’s Life in Brief


Nervous, nervous, nervous…
May 7, 2008, 5:53 am
Filed under: asthma, job, social work, worries | Tags: , ,

So…I’ve been on the job for two days but tomorrow will be the first day of actually working in the social work department. And I am SOOOO nervous! Not having worked in five years…well, let’s just say I feel like my clinical skills are probably just a tad rusty. Then, add to that the needing to learn a whole new system. Oh, and add to that, they are seriously short-staffed in the social work department, so they are wanting me up and running as soon as possible. I’m feeling just a little bit of pressure and nervousness. So, of course, I’m dealing with it by staying up and messing around on the computer when I should be going to bed.

And I’m nervous because tomorrow we are starting David on a lower amount of inhaled steroids for his asthma. I really do want to do this. I’m nervous either way here…nervous about too many steriods in such a little boy and worred about not enough steroids in a little guy that came close to dying from an asthma attack last year. So, hopefully, at least during the summer months, we can have him on the lowest possible dose and do OK. Of course, there seems to be something going around…at least two children we know have come down with high fevers…so we may not be on the lower dose for long. Heck we may just jump right up to the 1mg concentration. But, it may all be OK.

So, it’s a stressful time for me…both good stress (I’m happy to be back at work), and bad stress (worried about how I’ll be able to perform professionally and David’s health issues)…so I need to just relax and try to get a good night’s sleep!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

