Amy’s Life in Brief


Adjusting, adjusting, adjusting….
May 10, 2008, 5:19 am
Filed under: job, learning curve, MSW, social work | Tags: , ,

Everyone is having to do some adjusting to me being back to work. Fortunately, the boys seem to be the ones adjusting the best. I didn’t work today. While we were getting ready to go to school, Gavin asked, “When is Grandpa getting here?” I said, “I’m not working today so you won’t probaby see him until Monday.” Gavin’s response was, “You should go to work today!” So much for missing Mom. It’s actually reassuring…this process would be much tougher if the kids were having a tough time with it.

It seems that Aaron is having the most difficult time with me going back to work. He hasn’t made the adjustment of doing some of the housework or making dinner. On Thursday, I didn’t get home until about 5:30. He didn’t even ATTEMPT to start dinner. I’m not in a position where I can just stop and call him to tell him I’ll be late. I was in talking with a patient and you just can’t stop in the middle of a conversation and say, “Hold your thought…I gotta call home and tell my husband to start dinner.” He still expects me to bathe the kids and put them to bed, but he doesn’t want to do any of the evening chores that need to be done. Things like emptying and/or loading the dishwasher, folding laundry, basic clean up, need to be done and now that I’m working I don’t think it’s fair for things to stay the same. We need to do some more negotiating.

And adjusting to professional life again…I feel like an idiot. I felt like I had to apologize for being so dense. I had to have help writing an assessment! Geeze! I kept saying, “I really did get my MSW!” Everyone is very nice and so helpful, but I still feel like I’m so slow and just dense! And getting used to the client population. In other groups I’ve worked with, judging affect was so much easier. But, on Thursday I talked with a lady with severe COPD and I honestly wasn’t sure if she was tearful or just so short of breath, she seemed that way. It’s going to be a huge learning curve!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

