Amy’s Life in Brief


How does a social worker judge a bad day?
June 12, 2008, 1:41 am
Filed under: job, MSW, social work | Tags: ,

So, I got home from work today and told my husband that I really needed some time to decompress.  He asked, “Did you have a bad day at work?”  It’s hard to explain that I actually felt like I had a pretty productive day so it was the same kind of “bad” as he is thinking of.  I was carrying a caseload with a person on a 72 hour hold, a new mom that tested positive for meth, another pregnant person at risk for miscarriage, a family trying to come to terms with the fact that their mother probably has some form of dementia, and other assorted problems that were of varying degrees of severity.

So, that’s a lot to deal with and then the fact that I’m not going to be working tomorrow is the reason I really need to have some time to decompress.  Having to let go and let things taking their course while I’m gone is difficult.  And needing to be present for my children tomorrow is very important.  So, I’m taking some time to decompress so that I can enjoy my day with my boys.  I need to be able to focus on them and not have my mind at work wondering what is going on with my caseload while I’m gone. 

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I work for a Faith-based non-profit in Fayetteville AR. I have been asked to come on full time as a social worker since i recently finished my degree. I want to work there and love what i do, but as a social worker i will be doing very different tasks. I am working with our grant writer and he needs to know what tasks i will be preforming on a day-to-day basis. My problem is that i dont know what to tell him. I know what my text books say i will be doing, but i feel as if this is incomplete. Could you give me an idea of what i would be doing?

Comment by Serina Allen

I would venture to guess that you may not be able to tell the grant writer right off what you will be doing. It will probably take you a bit to get a feel for exactly what the job entails. But, one place to start is to take a look at the mission statement of your organization. They should also have an outline of what their goals are as far as serving their client population. I would start there and then as you get going you’ll probably get a better idea of what your job will entail! Good luck!

Comment by oregonamy1972




Leave a Reply

