Amy’s Life in Brief


My dirty little secret….
July 11, 2008, 6:09 am
Filed under: balance, burn out, job, MSW, social work | Tags: ,

Tomorrow I go to work. I haven’t worked all week and I am so happy and excited to be going to work in the morning.  I feel slightly guilty about this.  I had always been adamant that I would stay home full time until both boys were in school all day. I wouldn’t say that I was ever militant about thinking all children needed to be home with their moms until they went to school…just for me personally, I thought I needed to be home full time.

So, I was a bit conflicted about going back to work. I thought I would totally miss my kids all day long, that it would be hard on them, hard on me, etc etc etc.  Well, that’s not how it turned out.  They love being able to hang out with their grandparents.  And I really like being able to have a life outside of the home.

I guess maybe I was getting burnt out being at home full-time and shouldn’t feel even a little bit guilty about wanting to go to work.  I guess maybe it’s like any job…I didn’t have any balance and needed to find something to get that balance back.  Apparently, it was going back to work.

My older sister said I would like going back to work and would like seeing that I had gotten something completed.  Well, I don’t know about seeing things getting completed, given my chosen profession.  (She’s an IT professional in the business sector…so she has a job where she can definitely see things being completed) But, I definitely feel a sense of accomplishment at the end of the day, even with all of the frustrations.

Don’t get me wrong, though. I have enjoyed my week with the kids.  I got to see G’s t-ball games and was there when he got hurt today.  (Don’t worry he’s fine…but it was nice to be the one that wiped away the tears!)  And playing with David and all of that.  But, I’ve also had to deal with the typical 3 and 5 year old hijinx.  That gets old really quick.

Anyway…shhhhh…don’t tell anybody…but I’m going back to work tomorrow and I’m totally thrilled about it!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

