Amy’s Life in Brief


The memory of a two year old….
September 7, 2008, 1:08 am
Filed under: asthma, childhood fears | Tags: , ,

So today we went to the little mall in Albany to do a little shopping.  They were having a “safety fair” sort of thing.  They had the police, sherrif’s office, fire department, forest service, etc., there providing information, balloons, free pencils, coloring books and the like.  They also had a LifeFlight helicopter.  My older son was SO very excited to see the helicopter and to be so close to the helicopter and seeing the pilot and flight crew.  My younger son, on the other hand, was pretty well freaked out.   Then, apparently, they were called out to an accident.  They backed everyone away and fired it up and took off.  Once again, my older son thought that this was the most exciting thing he had ever seen and my younger son become totally unglued.

I think he was remembering , at least on some level, when he had to be life-flighted to the children’s hospital about 15 months ago.  My husband thinks I’m crazy to think he could possibly remember that given how sick he was and how much younger he was at the time.  But, I don’t have any other explanation for his reaction.  I remember that even shortly after his illness when he would hear helicopters he would run to somewhere he felt safe.  This would happen fairly frequently since we don’t live too far from the hospital.  He no longer does this.  But I don’t have any other explanation for why he would be so frightened by seeing a helicopter up close, other than having some sort of memory about his one and only helicopter ride.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Once a toddler I was babysitting had a really high fever and a seizure. To cool him off I put him in the bathtub and his four year old sister and I wiped him down with water. He did NOT like that, but it did get his body temperature down. It took him a LONG time to get over his bathtub fear, especially around me. I would totally bet that your child remembers, on some level, the helicopter ride.

Comment by Still Dreaming

I have definitely heard about kids having memories of babyhood and relating experiences later. It sounds completely plausible. I am a bit bad at the ‘what is your earliest memory’ as I think mine is from about 4 but I just have a bad memory!

Comment by cb

There is something called a “body memory” where the body remembers some facet of a situation but the mind doesn’t necessarily recall the details of the event. Perhaps this is what is happening here. It often happens to survivors of trauma. Poor guy. Perhaps with time and maybe with some gradual reintroduction he will be able to regard helicopters with more boyish wonder and less with a trauma response. Take care.

Comment by LCSW MOM

here is a quick explanation of “body memory” http://nospank.net/grille5.htm

Comment by LCSW MOM

he remembered I am sure…

Comment by Esther Feiken

Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Comment by sandrar




Leave a Reply

