Amy’s Life in Brief


Sad news tonight…
December 29, 2008, 7:01 am
Filed under: death, family life, grief | Tags: , ,

Tonight I learned that my good friend’s mother died.  She had been battling melanoma for about three years, I think.  She had tried a number of different treatments but, in the end, she lost her battle.  I haven’t been able to call my friend as she sent the word out via email and requested no phone calls.  I had made my friend what some would call a prayer shawl but hadn’t had the chance to send it.  I’ll be sending it either today or tomorrow…as soon as I can find a box.

This is my first friend to have lost a parent as an adult.  It seems strange that I would be 36 and only now be facing this with a friend.  I hope that I will be able to support my friend during her time of grieving.  It also makes me so glad that I had the opportunity to spend quality time with my family members over the holiday.  Between news of my friend’s mom and having worked at the hospital the day after Christmas, I realize many people did not have the most joyous of holidays.  And many people didn’t get to spend their holidays with a happy and loving family.  It makes me more aware not to take for granted all that I am so fortunate to have.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Very sorry for your lose, Amy. I wish you and your good friend peace and a better New Year. Like they say, this too shall pass.

Comment by Patricia




Leave a Reply

