Amy’s Life in Brief


The Husband Has Hit My Last Nerve Tonight!
July 31, 2009, 7:14 pm
Filed under: family life, husbands, mom, worries | Tags: , , , ,

I am going to attempt a measured post here…but boy does The Husband have me steamed right now. Currently, it is about 7:00 in the evening. I was just asked by the husband to cook the boys some dinner.

So, here’s the deal! I worked all day today. I’m tired, physically. Frankly, I’m also tired emotionally of the blatant double standard. Unless I was deathly ill, my husband would never have agreed to cook dinner for the boys when I was the full-time, stay-at-home parent. He would have also insisted that I plan the menus and wouldn’t have given it a second thought.

Tonight, I snapped. Not only did his request push me over the edge, it also brought a lot to the service. I began to think about what he had been serving the boys when I got home from work. Nine times out of ten, he is serving them either hot dogs, sandwiches (grilled cheese or PB&J), or something from a can (think Chef Boyardee). Vegetables….maybe, maybe not…all depends on my husband’s mood.

It is hard for me to be away from the boys all day and then for The Husband to be so lax about their eating habits just makes it that much harder. It is especially frustrating given the fact that The Husband is diabetic and should know the importance of a health diet. He takes great care in making sure he is eating properly and I just can’t understand why he can’t do the same for the kids.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m sorry. I would have snapped too and probably far sooner.

Comment by cb

That would leave me pissy too, especially if he’s eating relatively well balanced meals himself.

In general is he pretty good at child care and the house keeping part of home making?

I know that there have been a couple of studies that examine life when both people work outside the home and when either the man or the woman work and the number of hours that women spend doing house stuff always skews bigger regardless of the circumstance. I know Slate discussed stay at home dads and the recession a couple of months back…

Hopefully you were able to things out and bad feelings don’t linger.

Comment by Kia

Sounds familiar! My husband offered to cook dinner last week and I was very happy, but then at around 5P we had a discussion wherein he elaborated that if I decided what we were having and got the ingredients then he would do the cooking. Thanks, honey!

Its great to be able to vent, but I hope you were able to address the issue with your husband.

Comment by kmc




Leave a Reply

